Skip to content

Homemade Hummus

March 3, 2011

I’ve been meaning to make hummus for some time now, but I’ve been putting it off. Why? Because I have been totally bored with hummus. I didn’t mind it as a sandwich topping, but beyond that I was just unimpressed.

One exception to this rule: The hummus and pita plate at the Miracle of Science bar/restaurant in Cambridge. I think they just won me over through sheer saltiness, though.

But it turns out that it’s not hummus I’ve been bored with. It’s store-bought hummus. Homemade hummus is a completely different story.

The base of my recipe comes from this hummus recipe I found on Food in Jars. I found this a bit bland on its own, but I really dug it when I added more spices.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • A food processor
  • 2 1/2 cups chickpeas (I soaked about 2/3 this amount of dried chickpeas overnight)
  • 3 tablespoons tahini (use your food processor to make this before the hummus)
  • 2 garlic cloves (or more, to taste)
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 heaping tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 a small jalapeno pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/3 cup canola oil (or more, as needed)

Here’s what you’ll do:

  • Microwave your chickpeas for a minute, assuming you aren’t scared of microwaves (tip from The Kitchn; fears courtesy of Alex)
  • Put all of the ingredients save the canola oil and water in your food processor (first picture below, without many of the spices I added later).
  • Blend for 30 seconds. At this point it probably looks a bit like tuna fish (second picture below).
  • Continue blending while you stream in the canola oil. Check consistency of hummus before adding any more canola oil.
  • Adjust seasonings to taste.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 1:58 am

    And this homemade pita recipe is a snap, works beautifully! http://www.thefreshloaf.com/recipes/pitabread

Leave a Reply

