Skip to content

Homemade Mayonnaise

March 16, 2011

We’re out of mayonnaise, and Alex has a hard-boiled egg he’d like to turn into egg salad. What’s more, I’ve got leftover pita and spinach I’d like him to eat with that egg salad. Sounds like we need to make some mayo.

Mayonnaise has been, for me, not really worth eating. Given the choice, I’d much rather have something flavorful like mustard spread on my sandwich. It’s always seemed that the only point of mayonnaise was to add calories to food!

But I guess I was wrong! Even the simplest homemade mayonnaise has a taste that is simultaneously rich and light. It’s kind of wonderful.

The only problem with homemade mayonnaise, however, is that it’s not built to last. My recipe recommended consuming within a few days and warned against consuming after a week. This gets me wondering about factory-made mayonnaise, which lasts forever. Maybe this is the trade we’ve made with processed food: It’ll never taste good in the first place, but it will continue to taste that way forever.

So, good food fades fast but bad food lasts. Thanks, modern food science?

In any case, I used a Joy of Cooking recipe – again! – for making mayo in a food processor. I’m stunned by the number and variety of mayo recipes in Joy of Cooking. There is a world of sandwich spreads that has previously been unknown to me. Curry mayo? Really?

Here are the ingredients I used:

  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 3/4 cup canola oil, at room temperature
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp lemon juice

And here is what the Joy of Cooking had me do with them:

  • Blend in the food processor for 30 seconds 2 tsp well-beaten egg, 1 egg yolk and 1/4 tsp Dijon mustard
  • Use a spatula to scrap down the sides of the food processor
  • Add 1 tsp lemon juice and 1/4 tsp salt and blend for another 15 seconds
  • Use a spatula to scrap down the sides of the food processor
  • Turn the food processor on and pour the oil in as slowly as possible for the first third and twice as fast for the final two-thirds
  • Mix any remaining oil into the resulting mayonnaise
  • Stir 1/2-1 tsp mustard and 2 tsp lemon juice in to the mayonnaise, with more to taste

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 1:01 pm

    I’ve tried to make mayo but it always seems to go from glorious, rich and creamy to a big mess. I’m going to need to try it in the food processor; doing it by hand is absolutely exhausting!

  2. June 13, 2011 9:49 pm

    After many many attempts I’ve finally mastered mayo – my version is similar to yours though I use a mix of 200ml olive oil and 300ml peanut oil – I have a balloon whisk on my food processor which makes the end result more like what you “expect” from a jar of store bought mayo.

  3. Sally permalink
    March 26, 2012 9:44 pm

    Ever worry about that canola oil? Some badddd chemicals are used to make that stuff!

    • April 8, 2012 9:45 am

      I haven’t worried much about it, no, but I will definitely look into it! Appreciate the tip.

  4. Chuck Colhoun permalink
    September 1, 2012 3:05 pm

    Using only the yolks will give you mayo with longer shelf life. The whites are the protein and things without protein last longer. I’ve kept mine in the icebox for weeks, if I don’t eat it sooner, which is unusual.

Leave a Reply

