Skip to content

Tomato White Bean Soup

June 29, 2011

Once in a while, so much time will pass between when I buy ingredients and when I’m ready to make a recipe that I’ll forget where exactly I had found the recipe in the first place. We have so many sources of recipes, between books and blogs and magazines, that I sometimes can’t locate the original. That’s what happened in this case.

Several weeks ago I bought a few cups of dried large white beans, and about a week ago I left them to soak overnight. And then I forgot why. So they went into the fridge, and last night I determined that it was time to figure out what to do with them. Here’s what ended up happening (with a little inspiration from Mark Bittman’s customizable soup guide).

I collected:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 1 massive garlic clove, diced
  • 1 carrot, cut into rounds
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 cups frozen vegetable stock (pictured below in our sophisticated freezing device)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1.5 cups of the white beans in question
  • 1 14oz can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 handful of fresh parsley, chopped
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper
  • Fresh-ground Parmesan

Other than the beans, these are all things I typically have on hand. And dried beans are easy enough to stock. The result? This is a no-shopping recipe, easy to make without going to market.

Here’s what I did with these ingredients:

  • Warmed the olive oil in a clay pot and then sauteed the onion, garlic, carrot, thyme, and bay leaves until the onions were translucent.
  • Added the stock, white beans, and tomatoes.
  • Brought to a boil, turned to low, and left to simmer for 1 hour.
  • Tested to see that the beans were cooked, salted and peppered to taste, and then served, garnished with parsley and Parmesan.

You could also immersion blend this if you like, but there’s no need. It is perhaps the simplest soup I’ve ever made, and I’d hate to change that by adding an unnecessary step!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dhvani Desai permalink
    September 29, 2011 1:38 pm

    I really liked your blog!!!
    I am from India and most of the things mentioned here are quite difficult to purchase readymade. We would be able to consume these normally in restaurants. And the recipes you have shared here are certainly going to make it easy for us to have them more frequently…. cheaper.. and made at home!!
    Thanks
    Dhvani

Leave a Reply

